We are very pleased to announce the 2021/2022 Swimming Southland Prizegiving is to be held at;

Ascot Park Hotel, Saturday 3rd September 2022.


Trophy nominations - we are calling for nominations from our clubs for the following trophies;


Charlie Little Cup - Most Improved Breaststroker

McIvor Trophy - Most Consistent Tryer

Weston Family Trophy - Most Improved Female Freestyler U12

Bill Davidson Trophy - Administrator of the Year

Moira B Crowther Cup - Official of the Year

H2O Dreams Trophy - Club Coach/Teacher of the Year


This is a great chance to have your hard working swimmers recogised for their achievements in the 2021/2022 season at a Regional level.


Please email your signed nomination forms to [email protected] by 5pm Sunday 31st July.
(One nomination per club for each trophy)



We’re looking for a volunteer to take over the writing of the Southland Express Poolside article.  So if you have excellent writing skills, a good general knowledge of our sport and a desire to produce an engaging article that a wide range of readers will enjoy, we would love to hear from you.

To put your name forward for consideration please email our Executive Officer, at [email protected] with your name and any experience you may have 



At the 93rd Annual General Meeting of Swimming Southland 3 very special presentations were made:


It was with great pleasure that Board Chairman Mr Roger Eagles announced that Mr Tim Ward is the new Patron of Swimming Southland Inc

Tim was born here in Invercargill in 1961. HiPatrons mother Mrs Pat Ward was the Patron of the Orca Club. Tim had been associated with the St Mary’s Club which later merged into Orca. Tim was a competitive swimmer, starting at the age of 10 and between 1976 & 1978 he was the leading Freestyle swimmer in Southland. Both Tim’s daughters have been involved in swimming and in 2005 Tim became involved in Officiating. Tim is currently a NZ Referee and has been the Officials Examiner for Southland for some 3 years.



In recognition of outstanding service to the sport of swimming in Southland the following awards were presented:


Fenton has 20+ years of involvement with swimming in Southland. During these years Fenton has not only the served on the Orca Swimming Club Committee, holding the role of President for 2 terms but also on the Swimming Southland Management Board. He has also officiated at numerous meets in Southland and further afield, managed multiple Southland teams and been author of the regular Poolside media report


During his service to swimming, Waric has been a regular coach for the Murihiku Swimming Club, Officiating at Meet throughout Southland and out of region and served on the Swimming Southland Board for 2 terms.





Joseph Koroiadi (MKU) and Marlin Bennett (HOK), smashed out some extremley impressive Southland Records at the recent NZ Age Group Champs;
1. Marlin now holds the Male 12-13 year 50m Free record in a time of 26.13 (previous holder was Adam McDonald, in a time of 26.28, back in 2006!!)
2. Marlin also now holds the Male 12-13 year 50m Back record in a time of 30.53 (previous holder was Warwick Phillips, in a time of 30.82, way back in 2001!!)
1. Joseph now holds the Open Male 50m Back record in a time of 27.56 (previous holder was Michael Finlay, in a time of 28.22, back in 2011!)
2. Joseph also now holds the Open Male 100m Back record in a time of 58.76 (previous holder was Richard Harris, in a time of 1:00.49, back in 2010!)
3. Joseph also now holds the Open Male 200m IM record in a time of 2:09.26 (previous holder was Jared Sandri, in a time of 2:10.58, back in 2006!)
Congratulations boys, smashing these records is a true testiment to your hard work and dedication to your sport!




logo CTS


download (1)